[So I will start out by apologizing and saying that I think I’m the world’s worst blogger…sorry I haven’t updated in awhile! I will now attempt to make up for the past 3 weeks in the next few days! Ready? Here goes…]

Alright so I know a lot of people assume dancer’s don’t eat, those of you who know me know that is not true at all! And honestly when we’re not dancing, we are probably eating…or sleeping but no one wants to read a blog post about that. Well, New York being New York has a million things to eat and a million places to eat them and they’re all wonderful and delicious!

I also included the links to the websites so you can look at the menus on your computer and drool. (Or at the very least get hungry!) You’re welcome. πŸ˜‰

Here’s a few of my favorites:

20136291_1376559599126250_1569931128_n
It’s melting!

1) Gelato from Amarino

Amarino’s listed as one of the best places to get gelato in New York, and I’d have to agree! You can order just gelato in a cup, in a crepe, or in a cone. I got it in a cone and it comes shaped like a rose! It was a work of art I tell you, it was so cool to watch them scoop and shape the gelato. It was topped by their signature macaroon, which is gelato filled! I’ve never had a macaroon before but even I knew it was a good one. I went with Aggie, and she’s had macaroons (from France no less!) and she said she thought these were better…of course like I said they were gelato filled so that may have made a difference. πŸ˜‰ I had the tiramisu, chocolate, caramel, dulce de leche and the strawberry gelato…well they said you could have as many flavors as you wanted so I took them at their word! πŸ˜‰

(Side note: there are Amarino locations around the U.S….and I happen to know there is one in Kalamazoo and Chicago! Go if you get the chance!Β amarino.com)

 

2) Donut Ice Cream Sandwich from Holey Cream

20120910_1376564952459048_1021095886_n

Yes, this is a real thing. Aggie told me about this place and we had been planning on a trip here since we found out we were both going to be in NY. (We always tend to eat when we’re together…I told you, it’s a dancer thing!) Basically it’s a fresh-made donut, filled with ice cream (of your choice, I had the rocky road!) covered with frosting (of your choice, mine was vanilla) topped with a topping of your choice (also your choice, mine was crumbled Reese’s peanut butter candy for me!) and then a drizzle of chocolate syrup topped it off…and yes I ate the whole thing. No judgement please. It was delicious and totally worth the “food baby” I had during technique class the next day. πŸ˜‰ They also had trays of other very delicious looking deserts (such as cupcakes, brownies and donuts) should you not be able to handle the delicious richness of the sandwich! πŸ˜‰ Or if that doesn’t fill you up! (Unfortunately…or should I say fortunately…they are only here in NY!Β holeycream.com)

 

 

3) Garlic knots from Rosella’s

Unfortunately I do not have a picture of these…I tend to eat them before I can take one. πŸ˜‰ A lot of the Italian restaurants have garlic knots but everyone seems to agree that Rosella’s are the best. I wouldn’t know, I only eat Rosella’s…call me a garlic snob! πŸ˜‰ Rosella’s is a pizza place literally across the street from my dorm…a very dangerous thing let me tell you. Plus you can get 4 for $2, and you all know I’m a sucker for a good deal! (Plus I seemed to have charmed an older gentleman who I think owns it/manages because he gave me a discount one time and 5 garlic knots another time! I’m not complaining!) I don’t even order pizza, just the knots. My RA was laughing at me one night because she asked where I was going when I got in the elevator and I told her I needed breadsticks and just laughed and said that was the most random thing she’d ever heard. Well everyone has to be remembered for something! πŸ˜‰Β rosellaspizza.com

20117379_1376565872458956_1529896045_n

4) Nathan’s Hot Dog with fries (from Coney Island of course!)

There’s nothing like a hot dog from Coney…it’s just a thing like pasta in Italy! It was absolutely delicious, plus I got mine with cheese, which of course made it even better. πŸ˜‰

The french fries were very good too! I don’t usually like the crinkle ones, but they make them really crispy and not soggy which is nice. πŸ˜‰ I also got a slurpee (since I haven’t had one in like 3 years and that totally hit the spot!) It was the perfect lunch for a day at Coney! You could get pizza and stuff like that too but that seemed weird at Coney…or is that just me?

5) A Lunch Special from Mee Noodle Shop

20132984_1376620535786823_1439333054_o

This is definitely a great place to get some lunch. They have a good lunch special (especially for New York!) where you get your choice of soup, rice and main dish.

(I got egg drop soup, fried rice and shrimp chow mein!) I’ve been here twice now (with Aggie!) after church since it’s between the church and her dorm. It’s a nice break from the cafeteria food I eat all week let me tell you. πŸ˜‰ They have a lot of other things on the menu but the lunch special is a great deal and you get quite a bit of food!!Β meenoodlenyc.com

6) Chocolate Ganache Cupcake from Dean & DelucaΒ 20046255_1376568055792071_952038661_n

I went here by recommendation of my Aunt Nita (thank you!!! <3) and it was worth the walk. Dean & Deluca is an artsy-fartsy (sorry but it’s true!) grocery store in NY. There are several locations but we went to the one in the Upper East side.The food is on the pricey side…my cupcake wasn’t a bad price but some of the other stuff…like a pound of salmon for $48.00 or the loaf of cinnamon swirl bread (a small loaf!) for $14.50… I mean it was good (there was samples!) but I wouldn’t pay that much for it. Chalk it up to my good ole’ Midwestern frugalness. πŸ˜‰

Seriously tho, try one of the cupcakes. There are several other flavors, like banana and peanut butter, and vanilla something-or-other…they all looked good!

If you don’t believe me on the prices chceck out their website… πŸ˜‰Β deandeluca.com

Honorable Mention: All the Italian Bakeries (Especially the one with the window cookies in Greenwich!)

Sorry I don’t know the name but you’d totally know it if you walked by it. It’s on Mulberry Street in Greenwich and in their front window are trays of giant cookies. They have a special, $4 for a “window cookie” and they are sooo yummy. (And huge! They don’t fit in the palm of your hand!) I split an M&M one with a friend even half was a lot of cookie for one person! And I plan to go back because they have tiramisu cups…oh yes… ❀ For someone who likes salt over sugar I’ve been eating a lot of dessert…

 

So are you drooling yet? I hope you enjoyed this segment of A Dancer’s Diet with me your host, Emilee! πŸ™‚ Stay tuned for more yummy finds here in NY! Goodnite! πŸ˜‰

And a random side note (you know how much I love those!) Chipotle here is good and really popular, they’re all over the place. I had a wonderful lunch with a friend who lives in New Jersey and they make it pretty good here… so there you go, now you know that Chipotle is good here in NY.

